ABC steps for a new Dynare User

Hi everyone. I am new to DSGE models and Dynare in general. I already have my equations for all the agents. However, I am stuck on how next to proceed. I see that some authors log-linearize but despite reading through some materials, I still don’t know how log-linearization is done. I hear that I need to feed the log-linear equations into Dynare. Any help would be highly appreciated.

Hi,
I generally do not recommend log-linearizing models by hand except for gaining intuition. You can simply enter the nonlinear first order conditions. A simple RBC example is at https://github.com/JohannesPfeifer/DSGE_mod/tree/master/RBC_baseline. In the folder. you find also a PDF with information on how to log-linearize.

Thank you for your prompt response jpeifer. Thankfully, I have been able to log-linearize my model. I went back to some of your papers and found some insights. There is a new problem for me. I tried running the simulation but it keeps coming up with the following:

MODEL_DIAGNOSTICS: No obvious problems with this mod-file were detected.
There are 7 eigenvalue(s) larger than 1 in modulus
for 7 forward-looking variable(s)

The rank condition ISN’T verified!
error: Blanchard Kahn conditions are not satisfied: indeterminacy due to rank failure

I have sat with it for hours and I can’t figure what went wrong. I would be grateful if you could take a look and help me out. Thank you. The .mod file is attached.bamlala.mod (5.6 KB)

Check your timing. I am pretty sure that

K_hat(-1)=(1-delta)*K_hat+delta_g*I_hat;

is not a correct law of motion for capital

Thank you for pointing that error out jpfeifer. I have corrected it, looked over my model and ran the simulations again. The error message still persists. This time it says:

MODEL_DIAGNOSTICS: No obvious problems with this mod-file were detected.
There are 7 eigenvalue(s) larger than 1 in modulus
for 8 forward-looking variable(s)
The rank condition ISN’T verified!