Unable to estimate DSGE parameters-singularity

I am trying to do ML estimation of a DSGE model with two observables and two sectoral shocks. One of the shocks is to a unit root process, one to a stationary process. I get the message
POSTERIOR KERNEL OPTIMIZATION PROBLEM!
(minus) the hessian matrix at the “mode” is not positive definite!
=> posterior variance of the estimated parameters are not positive.
You should try to change the initial values of the parameters using
the estimated_params_init block, or use another optimization routine.

The parameter estimates come back close to the initial values with NaN standard deviations and t-statistics. Also the smoothed shock to the stationary process has a slight trend. The model solves and I can do stochastic simulations just fine, but (as I have limited experience with estimation in Dynare) it seems like I must be making some basic error in trying to estimate parameters. Any ideas? I’ve attached the code and data file. Thanks.
investmentGE_Oct2021_hfac_UR_ML.mod (4.0 KB)
cidata59.xlsx (13.8 KB)

Two issues stand out:

1. You are not correctly handling parameter dependence. When estimating gamu, you cannot independently set
gc=(1+gamu)^.33-1;

Use e.g. model-local variables for that.
2. Use mode_check to see that your estimation gets stuck at the upper bound for the standard errors. That explains the subsequent crash.

Thanks, I had seen that warning about dependent parameters in the video that you had linked in another thread, but hadn’t noticed that it was an issue for my code. I was able to get the estimation to work with those changes, but only after increasing the bounds on the shock standard errors (which I could see was an issue from the mode_check output, as you had suggested). Appreciate the help!.

Now I’ve tried to apply the same approach to a different .mod file, and I’m getting the error

Error using print_info (line 32)