Trouble solving Galì & Monacelli (2008)

Hi everyone!

I’m new to Dynare and I have a question regarding the Galì & Monacelli (2008) model on currency union. I saw an old post on the topic, but my issue seems a bit different.

I’m having trouble satisfying the Blanchard Kahn rank condition. I’m wondering if it’s a problem of unit root in the model. Since the model is based on the assumption of complete markets, it should not be the case (I think). I’m not interested in optimal policy. For now on, I’m just trying to run the model so I can add some new equations in it.

Is there a way to troubleshoot my mistake?

I attached a PDF with the equations and my .mod file.

Thanks a lot for your time,

Raphaël

g_m_2008_V1.mod (1.7 KB)
g_m_2008.pdf (371.2 KB)

What is the problem you are experiencing? I can run your file after commenting out the end of the commented out initval-block.

Thanks for your reply.

I realized that there is a typo in the file I sent. Sorry for that mistake. Basically, in the following file, the time subscript for inflation in the Euler equation is the right one. This change brings an error message about the rank condition of the Blanchard Kahn algorithm. I was wondering if there is a way to find out where it’s coming from.

Thanks a lot for your time,
Raphaël

g_m_2008_V2.mod (1.7 KB)

Could you please document your mod-file. Please add \LaTeX-names for the variables and add equation tags specifying to which equation in the paper the implemented equation corresponds. For an example, see e.g. https://github.com/JohannesPfeifer/DSGE_mod/blob/master/Gali_2015/Gali_2015_chapter_3.mod

Thanks for your answer Johannes Pfeifer,

I’ve document my previous .mod file based on your example. The new version is attached to this message.

Thanks a lot,
Raphaël

g_m_2008_V3.mod (4.5 KB)