STEADY: numerical initial values incompatible

Hi, I am a beginner in Dynare and struggle with error messages.
It seems like my initial value is not relevant.
In this case, how can I get the steady state other than exactly provide them.

The error message is …

STEADY: numerical initial values incompatible with the following equations
Columns 1 through 18

3     4     9    18    19    20    21    22    24    25    26    27    28    29    30    31    32    82

Columns 19 through 25

83    84    85    86    87    88    89

??? Error using ==> dynare_solve at 82
exiting …

Error in ==> steady_ at 124
[oo_.steady_state,check] = dynare_solve([M_.fname ‘_static’],…

Error in ==> steady at 52
steady_;

Error in ==> ver01 at 586
steady;

Error in ==> dynare at 132
evalin(‘base’,fname) ;
ver01.mod (12.6 KB)

It means that the initial values you provided do not satisfy some of the model equations (seems to be equations 1 - 25). You have to provide initial conditions that satisfy the system of equations that describes the model’s equilibrium conditions.

Thanks a lot for your comment.

1. Does it mean I need to provide a exact steady state solution to these values?
  2. Or simply can I provide them all zeros? (which satisfies the FOCs)?

If I need to provide a exact initial values… it means I need to implement a steady state solver (?)
In this sense, Dynare provides only impluse response function other than steady state solution?

Sorry for the stupid quesion…
Many thanks for your comment…