Problems with Ramsey Problem

Hi everyone,

I am working on a model that embedds a public sector with its budget constraint. I simulated the Ramsey optimal policy and I have three questions about it:

1. Growing upon the results of Schimtt-Grohe Uribe 2004 (paper attached), I expected to observe a random walk property for the public debt and taxes (they both reach a different SS). The shock I am performing is quite different, but the fundamental setup is pretty similar. That said, my first doubt is whether it is possible to reach a new steady state exploting the Ramsey routine in Dynare. Since I am new to this approach, I would like to know what I am missing.

2. My second doubt is that even though I provided an instrumental steady state for Ramsey, the routine seems to work only for initial values of my instruments equal to zero. I am aware that the SS I obtained in Matlab for my model is mildly different for the one obtained by Ramsey, but I am struggling to get the reason of this constrained behaviour.

3. I tried also to add another instrument controlled by the planner (for a total of 3 instruments) in the government budget constraint, but as far as I tried I always get an indeterminacy problem.

Could you please help me clarify the doubts above?

Thank you very much for your help,
Have a nice afternoon!

Grohe_Uribe_Optimal_fiscal_and_monetary_policy_under_sticky_prices.pdf (320.6 KB)

doubt.mod (5.1 KB)

1 Like
  1. I am not sure I understand the question. There often are infinitely many steady states for the debt level, but you seem to select a particular one in your steady_state_model-block with B = 0;
  2. Steady state finding for the Ramsey model still involves solving an equation system. All numerical solvers tend to depend on the starting values. That being said, some of your steady state values look hardcoded. Are you sure the steady_state_model can accommodate arbitrary instrument values? When I use
initval;
v=0.2;
t=0.2;
end;

I get