On Ramsey_Example.mod, by Johannes Pfeifer

Dear Professor Pfeifer and the rest of Dynare community,

I am an absolute beginner on Ramsey optimal policy and Dynare, so I understand that you might find that my questions are rather trivial. Regarding the Ramsey_Example.mod file, I would dare to pose a few questions:

1. If I insert the command “resid(1)” on line 175, the residual for Equation 2 equals 0.009801. Is this acceptable, i.e. close enough to zero?

2. If I also previously insert the command “steady(solve_algo = #)”, where # goes from 0 to 12 and 14, I obtain this error message “Error using print_info. The steadystate file did not compute the steady state (…)”. What am I doing wrong?

3. Also, given that equations in the model block include the “[name =’…’]” instruction, why is it that, assuming that the “residuals(1)” command is used, the legends of the equations are not shown? The output only shows the number of each equation.

4. How could I retrieve the values of the steady states both for i) the competitive equilibrium (for some exogenous R), and ii) the Ramsey optimal equilibrium (optimal R)?

5. Lastly, assume that per capita variables in this economy grew at a positive rate in the steady state due to, say, some exogenous growth productivity. I understand that variables in the “model” block should be conveniently rewritten. Fine. But would this imply some change(s) for the “planner_objective” command?

Any feedback will be highly appreciated.

Regards,
Cruz A. Echevarria

1+2. Commands like resid and steady belong after initval and in case of steady also after ramsey_model because otherwise planner_discount is not set.
3. That’s due to a bug. See resid: Fix display of name tags with Ramsey equations (!2017) · Merge requests · Dynare / dynare · GitLab. Thanks for pointing this out.
4. For a given R, you would need to execute your steady_state_model-block manually. For Ramsey, call steady after the ramsey_model-block.