MJDGGES and Steady State File

Dear all,

I am quite new to Dynare, using the 4.2 version, and I want to estimate a big model that is written in log-deviations. Before working on the big model, I wanted to estimate a small one, with only one agent and capital, no labor, and using a _steadystate.m file. As I only try to check whether the model - with a standard calibration - satisfies the Blanchard-Kahn conditions, I run onto the following error message:

??? Errors using ==> print_indo
MJDGGES returns the following error code: 3

Error in ==> check at 51
pring_info(info, options_.noprint);

Error in ==> simple at 90
check;

Error in ==> dynare at 132
evalin(‘base’, fname);

I can not figure if this error comes from 1) my steadystate file that does not send back the steady state values properly, 2) There is an issue with my model, which is unlikely since the non-linear version works with dynare or 3) I made a calculus mistake in my log-deviation, which would be shameful.

I join to this post my .mod file and my steady state file, that I took on this forum.

Thank you very much for your time,
simple_steadystate.m (430 Bytes)
simple.mod (271 Bytes)

Always put steady before check. The problem is that you did not program a correct steady state file. See [Steady state file)

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your answer. I used the steady state file you mentioned, and it works! I learnt a few things here, so thank you very much. I attach these files to this message, so other can use it, but there are a few minor issues:

It works perfectly fine but this little warning message that I don’t get either when executing the steady request:

[quote]Warning: Some of the parameters have no value (alpha, beta, sigma, gamma, rho, cs, ks, rs, ls, as, ws) when using steady. If these parameters are not initialized in a steadystate file, Dynare may not be able to solve the model…

In test_for_deep_parameters_calibration at 46
In steady at 33
In simple at 94
In dynare at 132[/quote]