Data transformation and posterior distribution spikes

Dear all,

I have been trying to estimate the basic New Keynesian model of Gali (2008) and run into a number of problems. Since I am new to Dynare, I do not know how to fix them properly.

The code I used is similar to Prof. Pfeifer’s on Github. For the measurement equations, I used the transformation suggested in Pfeifer’s ‘A Guide to Specifying Observation Equations for the Estimation of DSGE Models’ (2018, pp. 39). Namely, I used the detrended log real GDP, demeaned log inflation and demeaned log interest rate.

However, the error ‘input matrix must be positive definite’ shows up while using mode_compute 4 and 9. Furthermore, the mode_check command suggests that a certain variable (phi_pi) is way too low and should be at least three times as large. Finally, after using mode_compute 6, the posterior distributions of the variables become spikes.

Hence, my question: is this a problem due to unrealistic prior distributions or the data transformation? I greatly appreciate any help!

Mod file and data are attached.

gali_2008.mod (1.5 KB)

daten_fertig.txt (3.6 KB)

1. You are not handling parameter dependence correctly. My mod-file did that.
  2. Did you correctly transform annual interest rates to correspond to quarterly ones in the model?

Thank you Prof. Pfeifer for your quick and kind answer. I have some follow-up questions or comments.

1. As mentioned, I am relatively new to Dynare. I looked at your mod-file again, but I do not see how to take parameter dependence into account. Would you be so kind to give me an idea or hint?
  2. the three month Libor is retrieved quarterly. I assumed that it is annualized and hence I used the following transformation:
    i_obs=ln(1+i_data/400)-mean(ln(1+i_data/400))

Again, I really appreciate your suggestions and answers.

My mod-file uses model-local variable (#-operator) for the composite parameters. You hardcode them.