Bayesian Estimation not reading data file

Hello,

I am new to using Bayesian estimation techniques and this is my first attempt at estimating with Dynare. It seems that in the estimation command Dynare is not reading the data file. I get the following error whether I try to perform the estimation using Dynare 4.3 or the latest version so I am not sure. I have made sure that the variables in the data file are the same as in varobs

I get the following error

ERROR: The estimation statement requires a data file to be supplied via the datafile option.

Error using dynare (line 114)
DYNARE: preprocessing failed

dynare leeper_closed_est.mod

I have attached the files. Any help would be appreciated.
leeper_closed_est.mod (14 KB)
data.xls (63.5 KB)

Additionally, I have tried to load the file as a .mat file AND .xls and it does not work either. For some reason it cannot match or recognize the observable variables in the data file.

I get the following error message:

You did not declare endogenous variables after the estimation/calib_smoother command.
Loading 193 observations from data.mat

Index exceeds matrix dimensions.
Error in initialize_dataset (line 58)
rawdata = rawdata(first:(first+dataset_.info.ntobs-1),:);
Error in dynare_estimation_init (line 322)
dataset_ =
initialize_dataset(options_.datafile,options_.varobs,options_.first_obs,options_.nobs,transformation,options_.prefilter,xls);
Error in dynare_estimation_1 (line 59)
[dataset_,xparam1, M_, options_, oo_, estim_params_,bayestopt_] =
dynare_estimation_init(var_list_, dname, ], M_, options_, oo_,
estim_params_, bayestopt_);
Error in dynare_estimation (line 70)
    dynare_estimation_1(var_list,dname);
Error in leeper_closed_est (line 503)
dynare_estimation(var_list_);
Error in dynare (line 120)
evalin('base',fname) ; 

when I ask dynare to read the file as a .xls file I get the following error:

You did not declare endogenous variables after the estimation/calib_smoother command.